Mobile sharpening temporary schedule change: Arundel Flea Market, 04/06/12


Vern Burke, SwiftWater Edge Tool Works

Skowhegan, ME

Due to being somewhat under the weather, I’m going to be passing up my normal mobile sharpening service and restored tool sales run to the Arundel Flea Market on 04/06/12. I will resume normal scheduled service next week on 04/13/12.

In lieu of Arundel, I’ll be available at 209 W Front St, Skowhegan ME (home base) all day.

Visit me at any of the following locations:

Elm Plaza, Waterville, ME (Mondays)
Tractor Supply, Skowhegan, ME (Tuesday)
Arundel Flea Market, Rt 1 & Log Cabin Rd, Arundel, ME (Fridays)
298 W Front St, Skowhegan, ME (all other days)

If you’re looking for a special tool, please drop me an
email and let me know and I’ll restore one just for you!

SwiftWater Edge Tool Works provides mobile sharpening services across Maine and mail in services around the world for handsaws, carbide blades, planer knives, hand planes, chain saws, knives, scissors, hair clippers, router bits, and almost any blade!

2 thoughts on “Mobile sharpening temporary schedule change: Arundel Flea Market, 04/06/12

  1. While I can appreciate your perspective, I have found the angle grinder very effective for restoring the bevel on an old broadax. A good broadax is too hard to file, damn near chisel temper, and working carefully with the grinder lets me see what I’m grinding. As far as steel wedges go, I’ve reset the handle in claw hammers many times by cutting a shoulder below the head with a knife and 1/8″ chisel and driving the handle through enough to cut off wood around the wedge and then extract it with nippers.

    • Michael, thanks for the comment! We’ll have to agree to disagree on the angle grinder. I’ve had very hard axes as well (1922 Sager Chemical Axe) and I’ve never had anything that didn’t go right into shape with my Delta sharpening centers. The angle grinder is far too coarse and imprecise for fine work on an axe bit (not to mention tempts people to do goofy stuff like wrecking a nice head to make it shiny),

      As to handles, you can certainly do that with hammer handles, since they sit on a square shoulder. Unfortunately, that doesn’t work for axes since they sit on a tapered shoulder. Also, try pulling a steel wedge where the top of the wedge has rusted almost into oblivion and the wedge is rusted into the wood (most of the steel wedged axes I see). You’ll be swearing they’re tools of the devil in no time.

      Vern

Leave a Reply

